The Powerscourt Town House shopping centre was opened in 1981 in a former Georgian residence and courtyard with frontages onto South William Street, Coppinger Row and Clarendon Street converted into a fully enclosed 3 storey shopping centre.
The house was originally built as a town house and office for Lord Powerscourt, Richard Wingfield 3rd Viscount (1730-1788).
The house now contains 42 shops including jewellery, fashion, perfumeries, flowers, hair and beauty and gift and specialist shops, boutiques and galleries as well as a range of restaurants, bars and cafes. It also hosts art and design exhibitions. Twice a year the centre hosts a fashion show to promote the Irish fashion industry.
MJP are fire safety advisors to the Centre and have provided input to a range of developments in the Centre over the last number of years. MJP are able to draw upon their extensive experience in dealing with historic buildings together with the use of fire engineering methods to minimise the intrusion on the fabric of this historic building.